R O B I N        H A I G H


works - events - contactbio - photos - press

Orchester im Treppenhaus AESOP 2 (2021) - Composer Slam European Championship Winner


, Ivor Novello Award Nominee

“hypnotic”, “artful” - Neue Presse

“sophisticated”, “playful” - Deutschlandfunk

London Philharmonic Orchestra
SLEEPTALKER (2021) - Ivor Novello Award Nominee

an engagingly odd landscape of modernist fragments and other musical memories”, “the seriousness of all these composers [...] was an inspiration” ★★★★ - Ivan Hewitt, The Telegraph

Aldeburgh Festival, Slide Action Trombone Quartet, Britten Pears Contemporary Ensemble


“a major addition to the repertoire” - The Trombonist Magazine

“There is something so refreshingly honest about Haigh’s writing [...] his music feels like it’s pushing boundaries in the perfect way [...] new, refreshing, a mindset that is so ostensibly now”
What is Metamodern? Journal

Britten Sinfonia
Grin (2019) - Ivor Novello Award Winner 


“a quirky, playful, bold and original work with a highly distinctive musical language and sound. It is unpredictable, taking the listener in unexpected directions.” - Ivors Composer Awards 

“[Haigh] paints a smeared canvas teeming with cheeky flourishes, including weird, almost Mahlerian jigs and manically balletic swooshes” ★★★★ - Neil Fisher, The Times

Oliver Wass No One (2020) - Ivor Novello Nominee, Tippett Medal Finalist
Darragh Morgan
Nasubi (2020) - William Mathias Composition Prize Winner


”Robin Haigh’s dream-like No One is laced with exotic, vibrato-like effects; in this reflective premiere, Oliver Wass taps into an archaic, timeless vein.” - Musical Opinion Magazine

LSO, Tabea Debus Aesop (2019)

Ligeti Quartet
Samoyeds (2018) - WCCMF Composition Competition Winner 


RAM Recorder Consort, Tabea Debus

In Feyre Foreste (2016) - British Composer Award Winner 


“[In Feyre Foreste] inhabits an extraordinary sound-world full of surprises, was completely refreshing, with remarkable ensemble writing creating a magical narrative. The piece stood out from an impressively strong and diverse group.” - British Composer Awards

(haigh is pronounced like hague, not like hay or hi)

photo - Moritz Küstner 2022